Glaucoma

Glaucoma is usually caused by elevated intraocular pressure leading to visual loss.

When the drainage channels are blocked, fluid trapped inside the eye leads to elevated intraocular pressure. Such pressure damages the optic nerve fibres causing irreversible visual deterioration and ultimately blindness.

Glaucoma may be subdivided into chronic, acute, secondary and congenital


Chronic Glaucoma

This is the commonest type of glaucoma. At the early stage, only the peripheral visual field is affected, hence it is frequently overlooked. If it is uncontrolled, visual loss will eventually affect central vision.

The risk of chronic glaucoma rises with age, it usually develops in patients over the age of 35 and sometimes runs in the family.

During the early stages, patients with chronic glaucoma do not have any symptoms. When the intraocular pressures becomes high, patients may experience some aching in the eye with headache, hazy vision and halo when looking at lights.

The diagnosis of glaucoma requires clinical examination of the optic nerve heads, visual fields and intraocular pressures.

Chronic glaucoma can be treated and controlled. As it cannot be eradicated, observation and treatment are required for life. Permanent visual damage can be avoided if glaucoma is detected and treated early.

Acute Glaucoma

Acute glaucoma occurs when the aqueous drainage channels are blocked within a short period of time. Pressure inside the eye quickly builds up due to the trapped fluid. Symptoms may include aching pain in the eye, headache, blurring of vision, halo, nausea and vomitting. The immediate treatment is to reduce the intraocular pressure, after which treatment will be directed to manage complications such as recurrence and chronic glaucoma. The other eye will require medication or laser therapy to prevent similar glaucoma attack.

Secondary Glaucoma

Secondary glaucoma occurs in relation to other eye diseases, such as iritis, eye injury, mature cataract, prolonged steroid usage and diabetes. Treatments of both glaucoma and the underlying ocular diseases are required.

Congenital Glaucoma

This kind of glaucoma is found in newborn. Symptoms may include watery red eyes, high sensitivity to light, squint and cloudy large corneas. Early surgery is mandatory.

青光眼

青光眼通常是由於眼內壓過高而導致視力受到損害。

青光眼是由於眼球內前房液體排出眼球外的孔道有阻塞,使過多的前房液體滯留在眼球內,導致眼內壓升高。過高的眼內壓可以損害視覺神經,令到視力衰退,嚴重的甚至會失明。

青光眼可分為慢性、急性、續發性和先生性

慢性開角性青光眼

大部份青光眼屬於這類型,進展緩慢,初期的症狀是視野逐漸收窄,後期才影響中央視力。

慢性青光眼通常會隨年齡增加,通常發生於35歲以上的人士。而且可能與遺傳有關。

它通常沒有明顯的症狀,有些患者會感覺眼球輕微脹痛,前額有壓迫感,視像有霧,或看燈光時有彩虹般的光環。

診斷青光眼需要用特別的儀器量度眼壓,和檢查視覺神經線的健康狀況。患者並要經常接受視野檢查。

慢性青光眼是不能夠根治的,但是適當的治療可以有效地控制病情。它是慢性疾病,必須終身觀察和治療,愈早發現青光眼並加以適當的治療,愈能防止視力的損失。

急性閉角性青光眼

它是由於前房液體的出口孔道在短時間內閉塞,導致眼內壓急速上升。明顯的症狀是眼睛劇痛、頭痛、視力模糊、眼前出現光環、嘔吐等。治療的方法是首先儘快減低眼內壓,之後更需要接受激光或外科的手術以防止急性青光眼再發生。不受急性青光眼影響的眼睛亦需要接受藥物或激光治療以防止它在這隻眼睛發生。


續發性青光眼

它是因為其他眼疾而引起的青光眼,例如虹膜發炎、眼睛受傷、後期白內障、長期服用含類固醇的藥物。治療的方法是除了要控制眼內壓外,還需要醫治這些眼疾。

先天性青光眼

這類青光眼發生於剛出生的嬰孩,症狀是不正常的流淚水和畏光。需要儘早接受外科手術。